Honouring Hume’s best teachers

A group of local teachers that runs a leadership program for middle-school educators has been honoured with the highest accolade in the 2015 Hume City Council Teachers’ Scholarships.

The Building Leadership in Schools initiative has helped more than 150 teachers from 33 schools to develop ways that inspire students to be curious and passionate about learning.

It is delivered by teachers from Mount Ridley College, Craigieburn Secondary College, Gladstone Park Primary School, Willmott Park Primary School, Coburg Primary School, and Roxburgh Park Primary School.

The innovative program has received Hume’s Outstanding Team Scholarship, valued at $4000, and is also the winner of The Honourable John Cain Achievement Award, which offers an additional $1000 in prize money.

Hume Mayor, Councillor Helen Patsikatheodorou, said Council’s Teachers’ Scholarships rewarded individuals and teams for their outstanding work in the field of education.

“Teachers play such an important role because they develop the creativity and thirst for knowledge in those who will guide our community in the decades ahead,” Cr Patsikatheodorou said.

“Council offers more than $25,000 in scholarships so that the individuals who teach Hume’s residents can research new learning models which will help our students even more.”

The following individuals have also won a Hume Teachers’ Scholarship, valued at $4000:

• Mark Dixon of Dallas Brooks Community Primary School, Dallas, who acts as an e-learning coach and helps years five and six students to experience robotics and basic computer programming (Primary School/Early Years Educator category);
• Conor Hickey of Hume Valley School, Dallas, the designer of a unique learning program that assists teenagers with intellectual disabilities (Secondary School Teacher category);
• Kim Burn, a tutor in Deakin University’s Bachelor of Early Childhood Education course, who makes herself available at all hours of the week to assist students that study in Craigieburn via Hume Multiversity (Open Category Educator); and
• Jessica Peron, from Broadmeadows Special Development School, recognised for the way she promotes understanding in her students through movement, music, food, and objects (Graduate Teacher category).

A total of two educators in each category also received a runners-up prize of $500.

Cr Patsikatheodorou said she was impressed by the innovative techniques used by the winners and runners-up of the 2015 Teachers’ Scholarships.

“The recipients of these awards have shown that they understand the power of great teaching, and how it can change a young person’s life,” she said.

“They each use strategies which help students to question why things are the way they are, and inspire Hume’s young people to develop an appetite for learning across their life.”

Since 2005, Hume City Council has rewarded 54 teachers with a scholarship, and provided 48 educators with runners’ up awards.

The scholarship program has dispersed more than $200,000 in prize money.

For full details on the winners and runners-up in the 2015 Teachers’ Scholarships, visit here

Posted on 12:00 AM, 13 November 2015

Updated : 11:31 AM, 13 November 2015

Related Links

What's Near Me?