Outstanding Hume students recognised by the Victorian Bar

Published on 14 July 2021

Vic Bar Awards.jpg

Fourteen of the City of Hume’s brightest young students have been recognised by the Victorian Bar for academic excellence in legal studies.

The award winners are from a variety of Hume City secondary schools, and each receives $1,000 from the Victorian Bar Foundation and $500 from the Hume City Council.

The President of the Victorian Bar, Christopher Blanden QC, said “The joint initiative is aimed at encouraging students to pursue a career in the law.”

At the presentation, the Victorian Bar Foundation Chairman, the Honourable Justice John Digby, said “The scholarship program intends to break down social and economic barriers and recognise the potential in young students whatever their background.”

The students will participate in work experience during their school holidays that will include a tour of the Supreme Court of Victoria and briefings from leading barristers.

Mayor of Hume City, Cr Joseph Haweil said that “Providing pathways for the next generation of legal minds is inspiring, especially among a diverse population such as Hume where half the residents’ first language is not English.”

In announcing the successful students High Court Justice the Honourable Michelle Gordon AC highlighted that, “The students should feel very proud of what they had achieved through their hard work and academic excellence.

I look to these students being our future leaders not only in the law but across society,” Her Honour said.

The Victorian Bar Foundation was established to progress the interests of justice in Victoria and further legal education and training in the community.

The Victorian Bar Foundation Student Achievement Award winners for 2021 are:

Renas Demirci – Aitken College

Miah Dear – Craigieburn Secondary College

Reuben Silveira – Gladstone Park Secondary College

Muskaan Kaur Bal – Hume Anglican Grammar

Jodi Bologna – Hume Central Secondary College

Sara Amiri – Ilim College

Nancy Youhana – Kolbe Catholic College

Tina Yang – Mount Ridley College

Julian Daniele – Penola Catholic College

Jeyda Yilmaz – Roxburgh College

Mia Wright – Salesian College

Sumaia  Khan – Sirius College

Cassandra Warren – Sunbury College

Eloise Burton – Sunbury Downs College


This is a joint media release with The Victorian Bar.