Hume Early Years Community Hubs program

Hume-Hubs-Leader-with-pre-school-student

Overview

Hume Early Years Community Hubs were established in Hume City over eight years ago and were expanded to nine Hubs under the Supporting Parents Developing Children Project which ran from 2011-2014. There are now 15 Community Hubs located in Hume schools and they are part of the National Community Hubs Program.

  • The Hubs are based in primary schools and are planned around local needs.
  • The Hubs support families’ in their children’s learning and development, and provide knowledge and training opportunities for parents.
  • The Hubs act as a gateway to services, information and learning and increases connection with their community and the broader networks in Hume City.

Each Hub has a Hub Coordinator who offers a warm, supportive environment and helps parents and community members to create vocational pathways and move through volunteering, training, education and employment. The Hubs are open to families in the local community as well as school families.

Hubs Programs

Some of the programs that the Hubs provide are:

  • Playgroups
  • English classes
  • Community kitchens and gardens
  • Parenting and family support programs
  • Breakfast clubs
  • Linking to specialist services e.g. GPs, Maternal and Child Health
  • Special interest activities e.g. sewing
  • Social connection opportunities, e.g. coffee and chat
  • Certificate courses

National Community Hubs Program

The Community Hubs in Hume are part of the National Community Hubs Program of which there are 42 nationally, based in QLD, NSW and Victoria. The Hume Hubs are funded by Department of Social Services, Hume City Council and the schools they are located in.

Hubs Locations

There are 15 Hume Early Years Community Hubs across Hume. To find out more about the program download the Hume Community Hubs pamphlet(PDF, 3MB) 

Hume Community Hubs locations:

Bethal Primary Hub

Community Development Hub Coordinator - Nella Centorbi

9309 7626

nella.centorbi@education.vic.gov.au

Eldorado Crescent, Meadow Heights

 

Broadmeadows Valley Primary Hub

Community Development Hub Coordinator - Kirsten O’Connor-Smith

9309 4066

kirsten.oconnor-smith@education.vic.gov.au

Dimboola Road, Broadmeadows

Campbellfield Heights Primary Hub

Community Development Hub Coordinator - Rebekah Volpe

9359 5502

rebekah.volpe@education.vic.gov.au

Laurel Crescent, Campbellfield

Coolaroo South Primary Hub

Community Development Hub Coordinator - Fahriye Yilmaz

9309 1664 

fahriye.yilmaz@education.vic.gov.au

52-72 Bushfield Crescent, Coolaroo

Craigieburn South Primary Hub

Community Development Hub Coordinator - Kirsty Althorp

9308 3133

kirsty.althorp@education.vic.gov.au

Hothlyn Drive, Craigieburn

Dallas Brooks Primary Hub

Community Development Hub Coordinator - Susan Van Wyk

9309 1181

susan.vanwyk@education.vic.gov.au

26-36 King Street, Dallas (hub entrance via Werribee Street)

Good Samaritan Primary Hub

Community Development Hub Coordinator - Nayana Bhandari

9308 6177

nbhandari@gsroxburghpark.catholic.edu.au

1-29 Southern Cross Drive, Roxburgh Park

Holy Child Primary Hub

Community Development Hub Coordinator - Van Bui

9309 1620

vbui@hcdallas.catholic.edu.au

227 Blair Street, Dallas

Meadow Heights Primary Hub

Community Development Hub Coordinator - Salwa Salem

9305 2033

salwa.salem@education.vic.gov.au

46-60 Paringa Boulevard, Meadow Heights

 

Meadows Primary Hub

Community Development Hub Coordinator - Maureen Leahy

9309 2573

maureen.leahy@education.vic.gov.au

41 Gerbert Street, Broadmeadows

Mt Ridley College Primary Hub

Community Development Hub Coordinator - Aynur Toma

8338 3600

aynur.toma@education.vic.gov.au

2-30 Hampton Street, Craigieburn

 

Roxburgh Park Primary Hub

Community Development Hub Coordinator - Ruba Gondal

9303 9335

ruba.gondal@education.vic.gov.au

7/21 Almands Avenue, Roxburgh Park

Roxburgh Rise Primary Hub

Community Development Hub Coordinator - Veronica O’Brien

9305 4334

veronica.obrien@education.vic.gov.au

Cnr Lockwood Dr & Blue Bird Way, Roxburgh Park

St Dominic’s Primary Hub

Community Development Hub Coordinator - Caroline Menassa

9309 4146

cmenassa@sdbroadmeadows.catholic.edu.au

408 Camp Road, Broadmeadows (hub entrance via Jensen Road)

Sunbury Heights Primary Hub

Community Development Hub Coordinator - Sharon Ramunno

9744 3377

sharon.ramunno@education.vic.gov.au

Charter Road East, Sunbury

Community Hubs Cookbook

Community Hubs staff and participants put together a cookbook of favourite family recipes, to celebrate 2020 Refugee Week. 

Community Hubs cookbook(PDF, 10MB)