Hume has many unique and historically significant places to visit and explore, including the oldest homestead in Victoria, the birthplace of the Ashes, award-winning wineries, parklands and markets. Visit the Sunbury Visitor Information Centre on Macedon Street (in the old Courthouse), for a range of tourist information on the Hume city region.
Living Legends has been established to allow the public a view of retired champion horses. Rub shoulders with equine royalty such as Fields of Omagh
and Might and Power
. A great day out for the whole family, bring a picnic and explore historic Woodlands Homestead. Visit Living Legends
website for more information.
Alister Clark Memorial Rose Garden
Enjoy a stroll through the magnificent rose garden, located in the heart of Bulla. The rose garden displays a spectacular variety of stunning roses. Located next to the old Bulla Shire offices at the corner of Bulla Road and Green Street, Bulla (Melway Ref: Map 177 B7).
The Alister Clark Memorial Rose Garden highlights the work of Australia's most prolific rose breeder, the late Mr Alister Clark of Bulla. It is maintained by the Friends of the Alister Clark Memorial Rose Garden's dedicated community volunteers, with the assistance of Hume City Council. The garden is dedicated to growing, displaying and promoting the world famous roses developed by Alister Clark, and is open to the public during daylight hours every day of the year.
Alister Clark (1864-1949) lived and bred his roses in Bulla. He released 122 roses between 1912 and his death. Sadly, many of these roses have been lost to cultivation over the years, although some of his famous roses such as Lorriane Lee, Blackboy and Nancy Hayward have always been popular. The Alister Clark Memorial Rose Garden currently contains all 67 of the Alister Clark roses currently available including climbing, pillar, polyantha and hybrid tea bush roses. The Alister Clark Memorial Rose Garden open day is held in October each year.
Alister Clark Memorial Rose Garden Brochure (pdf)
Rose Garden Working Bees
Working bees are held monthly on Fridays Saturdays between 10:30am and 2:30pm. Everyone is welcome - just bring your own gloves, boots, willing hands and some lunch and morning tea to share. For further information contact Helen Curtain on 9205 2200.
Working Bee Dates 2016 (pdf)
Ansett Aviation Training- flight simulator experience
Enjoy the ultimate flight simulator experience at Ansett Aviation Training in Tullamarine. Imagine flying over picturesque Melbourne in an Airbus A320 or Boeing 737 at the largest aviation training facility in the Southern Hemisphere. Map out your flight plan; get flight briefings and receive a certificate and cap to remember this unique experience. Bookings are essential and accommodation and dinner packages with Hilton Melbourne Airport are available. Visit www.ansettaviationtraining.com for more information.
Historic and Nature Walks
Hume has many walking trails featuring historic bluestone architecture, railway viaducts and churches. There are fantastic views and lovely places to enjoy a walk or picnic. Heritage walks brochures are available from the Visitor Information Centre.
Discover Your City Walking, Cycling, Places of Interest
For information on walking and cycling tracks, please phone or visit the Sunbury Visitor Information Centre. Or download the 'Discover Your City Walking, Cycling, Places of Interest' maps below. The maps are also available from Hume's Customer Service Centres and Leisure Centres. The two maps cover Hume City; one for Sunbury/Bulla and one for Broadmeadows/Craigieburn. They show places of interest including visitor attractions, playspaces, toilet and recreation facilities, cycling lanes and pathways.
Discover Your City Map - Broadmeadows and Craigieburn.pdf
Discover Your City Map - Sunbury and Bulla.pdf
Direct to Public Outlets in Hume
Did you know that many of Hume’s food manufacturers also sell direct to public? Treat yourself and the family and discover the range of multicultural delights on offer. Link to Direct to Public Outlets in Hume
Sunbury Craft and Family Market
The Sunbury Craft and Family Market where you can find beautiful handmade arts and crafts, delicious food and fun for the whole family. Located at the Sunbury Neighbourhood House and Community Centre, 531 Elizabeth Drive, Sunbury (Melway Ref 382 A3). Held 1st Saturday of each month. Organised
by Rotary. More information on the Facebook page
or contact 0400 907 793.
MUSEUMS & GALLERIES
Hume offers a range of museums and galleries as well as a rich history and heritage. Visit our historic bluestone bridges, railway viaducts and churches.
The Broadmeadows area, home to the Wurundjeri Aboriginal tribe prior to European settlement, was settled by pastoralists in the 1840s.
Broadmeadows Historical Museum
Established in 1991 this museum is dedicated to the preservation, display and appreciation of Broadmeadows history.
Open 2nd Sunday of the month and weekdays by appointment
Broadmeadows Historical Society, 21 Pearcedale Parade, Broadmeadows 3047
Tel: +61 3 9302 1456
A Walk Around Old Broadmeadows Village
Now known as Westmeadows, Old Broadmeadows Village was developed in 1850. Some of the historical features include: The Police Lock-ups (1859), District Roads Board Building (1866), St Anne’s Roman Catholic Church (1867), The Presbyterian Church (1850’s), The Vicarage for St Paul’s Anglican Church (1860), The Old Coach House, Foresters Hall (1887), Stone Bridge (1869), The Old Court House and The Hotel. Pick up a copy of “A Walk around Old Broadmeadows Village” from the Broadmeadows Historical Society, Pearcedale Parade, Broadmeadows.
Broadmeadows Historical Society, 21 Pearcedale Parade, Broadmeadows 3047
Tel: +61 3 9302 1456
Woodlands Historic Homestead at Living Living Legends
Visit historic Woodlands Homestead (1843) which overlooks the grassy woodlands of Gellibrand Hill. Bike, hike, ride your horse and picnic in the park. Scarred trees and surface stone tool scatters are evidence of the Woiworung Aboriginal people who lived in the area before European settlement. The park also contains the ruins of two other 19th century homesteads, Cumberland and Dundonald.
207 Oaklands Road, Greenvale 3059
Hume has many historic bluestone bridges, railway viaducts and churches. The area is home to Emu Bottom Homestead (c. 1835), Victoria’s oldest homestead; the bluestone cellar doors of Goona Warra Vineyard (c. 1858) and Craiglee (c. 1866). The former asylum (c.1864) is another imposing building overlooking the township and the old Sunbury Courthouse and Aitken’s Gap Gaol are other links to Sunbury’s past.
Aitken’s Gap Gaol
The Aitken’s Gap Police Gaol was erected in 1857 at a cost of ₤200. It was built near the Calder Highway West of Sunbury where there was a small town known as “The Gap”, originally called Aitken’s Gap after the pioneer sheep farmer John Aitken. The Town sprung up with diggers spending the night on their way to the goldfields after the gold rush started in Victoria in 1851, and was in use until 1863.
The Gaol was mostly used for the safe storage of gold and cash on route to the Treasury in Melbourne. In 1863 Aitken’s Gap Barracks were closed and in 1989, the owner of the building Mr Bruce Akers (as it was now on his land) generously donated the building to the Sunbury Police to be rebuilt for the community as a monument to our pioneering past.
In 1988 the Gaol was relocated to it’s present location – between the Police Station and the Old Courthouse in Macedon Street Sunbury.
43 Macedon Street Sunbury 3429
Tel: +61 3 9744 2291
Boilerhouse Art Gallery
The Boilerhouse was built in 1899 and since then the tall red chimney of this structure has been a Sunbury landmark. The former Boilerhouse and laundry of the original Industrial School underwent refurbishment in 1995 and became the home of the Art Gallery and Community Arts Centre. They held their first exhibition in 1996. For more information visit: www.boilerhousetheatreco.com
Building 20, Boilerhouse Road, Sunbury 3429
Emu Bottom Homestead- Victoria’s oldest homestead
Emu Bottom Homestead operated as a tourist attraction for the period of 1970 – 1975 and during this time approximately 90,000 each year visitors enjoyed stepping back to experience a small piece of Australia’s pioneering past.
Today, Emu Bottom Homestead is an important landmark and a treasured part of Australian pioneering heritage. The homestead complex is the backdrop to all manner of functions and events and boasts two dining facilities – the Woolshed and the Homestead Dining Room.
Please note Emu Bottom is today used as a reception centre and is not open to the public for tours.
Homestead Way, Sunbury 3429
Tel. +61 3 9744 1222
George Evans Museum
The George Evans Museum hosts a significant collection of over 3,500 items including photographs, documents and objects of significance to Sunbury and surrounds. The Museum displays a permanent exhibition of pieces as well as rotating feature exhibitions. The Museum is open in conjunction with Sunbury Library hours and is staffed part-time by Council staff and volunteers.
36 Macedon Street, Sunbury 3429 - Enter through Sunbury Library
Tel. (03) 9740 5497
Historical walk around Sunbury
Sunbury has many walking trails, most featuring historic sites. The entire Sunbury Region features many historic bluestone bridges, railway viaducts and churches. Some of the historical features of Sunbury include: Catholic Presbytery, Mount Carmel Church and Primary School (1864-75), Ball Court Hotel (1860), Dunblane (1893), Old Wine Saloon No. 33 (1870), St. Andrews Uniting Church (1904), St. Mary’s Church (1867), Sunbury and District Soldier Memorial, Joseph Starkie Fountain (1915), Sunbury Cannon (1865), Catholic Convent (1916), plus so much more. The “Sunbury Heritage Walks” brochure lists four of these walks, giving a brief outline of the local history.
Pick up your free copy at the Sunbury Visitor Information Centre, 43 Macedon Street, Sunbury.
History of the Ashes
It was on the cricket field of Rupertswood that the Ashes were created. Over the Christmas of 1882, eight amateur members of the English touring side were house guests of the Clarkes. Sir William organised a social hit between the English and his guests, and with the English proving victorious, Janet Lady Clarke burnt a bail, the ashes of which she placed in a small urn and presented to the English Captain (Ivo Bligh).
Indigenous Earth Rings
The earth ring sites are extremely rare. Only eight earth rings are documented for the entire state of Victoria. Five of these are found in Sunbury. The Sunbury rings are shallow, circular depressions, partially enclosed by raised earth rims. They range from 15 to 25 metres in diameter. One of these sites was excavated in 1979 and yielded the discovery of 164 stone artefacts and revealed that the ring had been made by human hands. When and why they were made remains a mystery but it is believed that they formed part of a male initiation ceremony.
Please note: the sites are protected under legislation and people must not enter the fenced areas around the rings.
For more information on the rings and the local Indigenous history of the region please contact
Sunbury Visitor Information Centre +61 3 9744 2291
Old Sunbury Courthouse – Sunbury Visitor Information Centre
Aside from being the site for the Information Centre for the area of Hume, the Sunbury Courthouse is steeped in history in its own right. In 1884 the Government decided to construct a permanent Court House in Sunbury and the tender was awarded in 1885 to Dodridge and Roberston at a cost of ₤507/9/6. The courthouse was operational until 1989 when it was officially closed. In 1992 restoration work commenced and in 1993 it re-opened as a Visitor Information Centre.
43 Macedon Street, Sunbury
Tel. +61 3 9744 2291
Victoria University site – Old Sunbury Asylum Tours
In the 1860’s Sunbury was chosen as the site for a purpose built Industrial School with 10 bluestone buildings to accommodate children. Most of these children were abandoned, orphaned or neglected due to the gold rush at both Ballarat and Bendigo. The living conditions at the time were atrocious and ill health predominant. In the school’s first year alone, ten children died, earning the school the nickname of the “Sunbury Slaughterhouse”.
The school was closed after 14 years and was re-developed from 1879 as an institution for psychiatric patients. It is during this period that the “old asylum” is most remembered and was also known as Caloola. In 1994 Victoria University moved onto the site, but subsequently closed its doors.
Today, visitors can collect a self- guided tour map from the Sunbury Visitor Information Centre and wander at their own pace, exploring the exterior of these remarkable buildings.
Alternatively, you can take a guided walking night tour, available only on weekends
Sunbury Historical Tours
17 Circular Drive, Sunbury 3429
Tel: Julie 0422 807 248
The Village Green
The Sunbury Village Green is a unique place. It is not a true village green in the traditional sense, but was created as a result of the closure of Stawell Street to traffic. Stawell Street provided a key link between the early settlement of Sunbury and the commercial precinct that later blossomed with the opening of the railway in 1859. This area includes original churches, St Mary’s (1867), St Andrews (1870) as well as the old Mechanics Institute (1885 – now known as Memorial Hall), War memorial, Starkie Fountain memorial and Sunbury Gun (1864) used by the Rupertswood Battery.
Corner of Barkly & Brook Streets, Sunbury