

# SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING OF THE HUME CITY COUNCIL

**WEDNESDAY, 1 NOVEMBER 2017** 

**CONFIRMED - 13 NOVEMBER 2017** 

### **HUME CITY COUNCIL**

Minutes of the

#### SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING OF THE HUME CITY COUNCIL

held on Wednesday, 1 November 2017

at 7.02 pm

at the Council Chamber, Hume Global Learning Centre, Broadmeadows

To: a: Council Cr Geoff Porter Mayor

> Cr Carly Moore **Deputy Mayor**

Cr Joseph Haweil Cr Jodi Jackson Cr Drew Jessop Cr Leigh Johnson Cr Naim Kurt Cr Jack Medcraft Cr Ann Potter Cr Karen Sherry Cr Jana Taylor

Chief Executive Officer b: Officers Mr Domenic Isola

> Mr Peter Waite Director Sustainable Infrastructure and Services

Mr Gavan O'Keefe Acting Director Corporate Services **Director Community Services** Ms Margarita Caddick

Mr Kelvin Walsh **Director Planning and Development** 

Ms Kylie Ezzy Director Communications, Engagement and

Advocacy

Manager Communications and Events Ms Louise McFarlane

Acting Manager Health And Community Wellbeing Ms Ann McNair

Ms Lisa Letic Manager Family, Youth and Child Services Ms Kirsty Miller

Manager Statutory Planning and Building Control

Services

Ms Aida Baptista Personal Assistant to the Chief Executive Officer

Ms Megan Anderson **Executive Officer** 

Manager Sustainable Environment Ms Bernadette Thomas

Mr David Fricke Manager Assets Mr John Davis Manager Subdivisions

Manager Community and Activity Centre Planning Mr Greg McLaren

Ms Carmel Ganino Coordinator External Communications

External Communications Advisor (Digital Media) Ms Luciana Arentes

Ms Sintiya Khananishoo External Communications Advisor (Media)

Ms Kirsty Pearce Senior Governance Officer Mr Brad Mathieson **Governance Support Officer** 

Note: Pursuant to Clause 1.5 of the Code of Meetings Procedure contained in Council's

Governance Local Law 2013, the Chief Executive Officer was the first temporary

chairperson of the Special Meeting.

#### Proceedings to be Recorded

The Chief Executive Officer advised Councillors and Gallery that the meeting would be visually and audio recorded, and advised the Councillors and Gallery that an audio recording of the meeting will be made and published to Council's website within 2 working days of the meeting.

**Hume City Council** Page 1

#### **ORDER OF BUSINESS**

#### 1. PRAYER

Mr Domenic Isola, Chief Executive Officer, as the first temporary Chairperson, read the Opening Prayer.

Almighty God, we humbly beseech Thee to vouchsafe Thy blessing upon this Council. Direct and prosper its deliberations to the advancement of Thy glory and the true welfare of the people of the Hume City.

Amen

#### 2. APPOINTMENT OF SECONDARY TEMPORARY CHAIRPERSON

The Chief Executive Officer called for nominations for the second temporary Chairperson.

Cr Geoff Porter nominated Cr Drew Jessop as the second temporary Chairperson. Cr Jessop accepted the nomination.

There being no further nominations Cr Jessop was declared elected Second Temporary Chairperson. The Temporary Chairperson vacated the chair, and Cr Jessop assumed the Chair.

Cr Jessop welcomed all present and formally acknowledged the former Hume City Council Mayors in attendance.

#### 3. RECOGNITION OF TRADITIONAL LAND OWNERS

Cr Drew Jessop as the Second Temporary Chairperson read the following Recognition of Traditional Land Owners:

We are meeting on country for which the members and elders of the Gunung-Willam-Balluk community and their forebears have been custodians for many centuries. The Gunung-Willum-Balluk of the Wurundjeri are the Traditional Custodians of this land. I would like to pay respect to the existing family members of the Gunung Willam Balluk and to Elders passed and present.

#### 4. ELECTION OF THE MAYOR FOR THE 2017/2018 YEAR

The Second Temporary Chairperson invited nominations for the Office of Mayor for the 2017/2018 year.

Cr Jana Taylor nominated Cr Geoff Porter. Cr Porter accepted the nomination.

There being no further nominations, the Second Temporary Chairperson declared Cr Porter to have been duly elected the Mayor of Hume City Council for the 2017/2018 year.

The Second Temporary Chairperson vacated the chair.

#### 5. INSTALLATION OF THE MAYOR

Cr Geoff Porter was presented with the Mayoral Jewel, and in accordance with Section 73(2) of the *Local Government Act* 1989, assumed the chair.

#### **ADDRESS BY MAYOR**

The Mayor, Cr Geoff Porter, addressed the meeting.

Hume City Council Page 2

#### ADDRESS BY COUNCILLORS

Cr Jana Taylor, Cr Drew Jessop, Cr Carly Moore, Cr Naim Kurt, Cr Karen Sherry, Cr Leigh Johnson, Cr Ann Potter and Cr Jack Medcraft each, in turn, congratulated Cr Geoff Porter on being elected Mayor.

#### 6. ELECTION OF THE DEPUTY MAYOR FOR THE 2017/2018 YEAR

The Mayor called for nominations for Deputy Mayor.

Cr Ann Potter nominated Cr Carly Moore. Cr Moore accepted the nomination.

There being no further nominations the Mayor declared Cr Carly Moore elected as Deputy Mayor of the Hume City Council for the 2017/2018 year.

#### 7. APPOINTMENTS TO AUDIT COMMITTEE FOR THE 2017/2018 YEAR

Moved Cr Karen Sherry, Seconded Cr Jack Medcraft

**That Council:** 

- 7.1 appoints Cr Drew Jessop and Cr Carly Moore to the Audit Committee in accordance with the Instrument of Delegation;
- 7.2 fixes the allowance to be paid to the independent members at:

Chairperson - \$8,500 per annum Member - \$6,800 per annum.

**CARRIED** 

## 8. APPOINTMENT OF CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER REVIEW COMMITTEE FOR THE 2017/2018 YEAR

Moved Cr Leigh Johnson, Seconded Cr Joseph Haweil

8.1 That Council appoints the Mayor as Chairperson and Convenor, and Cr Drew Jessop and Cr Karen Sherry as members of the Chief Executive Officer Review Committee.

**CARRIED** 

#### 9. APPOINTMENT OF DELEGATES FOR THE 2017/2018 YEAR

**Australian Mayoral Aviation Council** 

Moved Cr Jodi Jackson, Seconded Cr Drew Jessop

9.1 That Cr Jack Medcraft be appointed as the Council Representative to the Australian Mayoral Aviation Council and Cr Naim Kurt be appointed the substitute delegate for the ensuing year.

**CARRIED** 

Hume City Council Page 3

#### **Municipal Association of Victoria**

Moved Cr Ann Potter, Seconded Cr Jack Medcraft

9.2 That Cr Joseph Haweil be appointed as the Council Representative to the Municipal Association of Victoria and Cr Karen Sherry be appointed the substitute delegate for the ensuing year.

**CARRIED** 

#### **Victorian Local Governance Association**

Moved Cr Naim Kurt, Seconded Cr Carly Moore

9.3 That Cr Leigh Johnson be appointed as the Council Representative to the Victorian Local Governance Association and Cr Jana Taylor be appointed as substitute delegate for the ensuing year.

**CARRIED** 

#### 10. CLOSURE OF MEETING

The Mayor thanked everyone for their attendance, and invited all present to attend a civic reception following the Meeting.

The Mayor closed the Meeting at 7.40 PM.

COUNCILLOR GEOFF PORTER
MAYOR

Hume City Council Page 4