

SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING OF THE HUME CITY COUNCIL

THURSDAY, 1 NOVEMBER 2018

CONFIRMED - 12 NOVEMBER 2018

HUME CITY COUNCIL

Minutes of the SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING OF THE HUME CITY COUNCIL held on Thursday, 1 November 2018 at 7.01 PM at the Council Chamber, Hume Global Learning Centre, Broadmeadows

Present:	a: Cound	Cr Carly Moore Cr Naim Kurt Cr Joseph Haweil Cr Jodi Jackson Cr Drew Jessop Cr Leigh Johnson Cr Jack Medcraft Cr Geoff Porter Cr Ann Potter Cr Ann Potter Cr Karen Sherry Cr Jana Taylor	Mayor Deputy Mayor
	b: Office	Ar Domenic Isola Ar Peter Waite Ar Daryl Whitfort Ar Hector Gaston Ar Michael Sharp As Kylie Ezzy As Kristen Cherry Ar David Fricke Ar Yuri Guzman Ar Greg McLaren As Louise McFarlane As Louise McFarlane As Kirsty Miller Ar Gavan O'Keefe As Bernadette Thomas Ar Guy Walter As Aimee Croxon Ar Glenn Frisch As Sintiya Khananishoo As Cathy Marshall As Sonya Martin Ar Brad Mathieson Ar Matthew Wilton	Chief Executive Officer Director Sustainable Infrastructure and Services Director Corporate Services Director Community Services Director Planning and Development Director Communications, Engagement and Advocacy Manager Community Strengthening Manager Assets Manager Information Technology Manager Urban & Open Space Planning Manager Communications & Events Manager Statutory Planning and Building Control Services Manager Governance Manager Sustainable Environment Acting Manager Health and Community Wellbeing Acting Coordinator External Communications External Communications Advisor Coordinator Media & Advocacy Coordinator Social and Community Planning Media & Advocacy Officer Senior Governance Officer Governance Support Officer

Proceedings to be Recorded

The Chief Executive Officer advised Councillors and members of the gallery that the meeting would be visually and audio recorded, and advised Councillors and members of the Gallery that an audio recording of the Council meeting will be published to Council's website within 2 working days of the meeting.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

1. PRAYER

Mr Domenic Isola, Chief Executive Officer, as the first temporary Chairperson, read the Opening Prayer.

Almighty God, we humbly beseech Thee to vouchsafe Thy blessing upon this Council. Direct and prosper its deliberations to the advancement of Thy glory and the true welfare of the people of the Hume City.

Amen

2. APPOINTMENT OF SECONDARY TEMPORARY CHAIRPERSON

The Chief Executive Officer called for nominations for the second temporary Chairperson.

Cr Ann Potter nominated Cr Geoff Porter as the second temporary Chairperson. Cr Porter accepted the nomination.

There being no further nominations Cr Porter was declared elected Second Temporary Chairperson. The Temporary Chairperson vacated the chair, and Cr Porter assumed the Chair.

Cr Porter welcomed all present and formally acknowledged the former Hume City Council Mayors in attendance.

3. RECOGNITION OF TRADITIONAL LAND OWNERS

Cr Geoff Porter as the Second Temporary Chairperson read the following Recognition of Traditional Land Owners:

We are meeting on country for which the members and elders of the Gunung-Willam-Balluk community and their forebears have been custodians for many centuries. The Gunung-Willum-Balluk of the Wurundjeri are the Traditional Custodians of this land. I would like to pay respect to the existing family members of the Gunung Willam Balluk and to Elders past and present.

4. ELECTION OF THE MAYOR FOR THE 2018/2019 YEAR

The Second Temporary Chairperson invited nominations for the Office of Mayor for the 2018/2019 year.

Cr Jack Medcraft nominated Cr Carly Moore. Cr Moore accepted the nomination.

There being no further nominations, the Second Temporary Chairperson declared Cr Moore to have been duly elected the Mayor of Hume City Council for the 2018/2019 year.

The Second Temporary Chairperson vacated the chair.

5. INSTALLATION OF THE MAYOR

Cr Carly Moore was presented with the Mayoral Jewel, and in accordance with Section 73(2) of the *Local Government Act* 1989, assumed the chair.

ADDRESS BY THE MAYOR

The Mayor, Cr Carly Moore, addressed the meeting.

ADDRESS BY COUNCILLORS

Councillors Drew Jessop, Naim Kurt, Karen Sherry, Jana Taylor, Ann Potter, Leigh Johnson, Jack Medcraft, Geoff Porter, and Joseph Haweil each, in turn, congratulated Cr Carly Moore on being elected Mayor.

6. ELECTION OF THE DEPUTY MAYOR FOR THE 2018/2019 YEAR

The Mayor called for nominations for Deputy Mayor.

Cr Drew Jessop nominated Cr Naim Kurt. Cr Kurt accepted the nomination.

There being no further nominations the Mayor declared Cr Kurt elected as Deputy Mayor of the Hume City Council for the 2018/2019 year.

7. APPOINTMENTS TO AUDIT COMMITTEE FOR THE 2018/2019 YEAR

Moved: Cr Jana Taylor, Seconded: Cr Ann Potter

That Council:

- 7.1 extends the appointment of David Nairn as an Audit Committee member for a further four year period until 13 April 2023
- 7.2 appoints Councillor Karen Sherry and Councillor Drew Jessop to the Audit Committee in accordance with the Instrument of Delegation;
- 7.3 fixes the allowance to be paid to the independent members at:

Chairperson - \$8,500 per annum

Member - \$6,800 per annum.

CARRIED

8. APPOINTMENT OF CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER REVIEW COMMITTEE FOR THE 2018/2019 YEAR

Moved: Cr Leigh Johnson, Seconded: Cr Joseph Haweil

8.1 That Council appoints the Mayor as Chairperson and Convenor, and Councillor Geoff Porter and Councillor Jack Medcraft as members of the Chief Executive Officer Review Committee.

CARRIED

9. APPOINTMENT OF DELEGATES FOR THE 2018/2019 YEAR

Australian Mayoral Aviation Council

Moved: Cr Drew Jessop, Seconded: Cr Joseph Haweil

9.1 That Councillor Jack Medcraft be appointed as the Council representative and Councillor Jodi Jackson be appointed as the substitute delegate for the Australian Mayoral Aviation Council.

CARRIED

Municipal Association of Victoria

Moved: Cr Jack Medcraft, Seconded: Cr Ann Potter

9.2 That Councillor Joseph Haweil be appointed as the Council representative and Councillor Naim Kurt be appointed as the substitute delegate for the Municipal Association of Victoria.

CARRIED

Victorian Local Governance Association

Moved: Cr Geoff Porter, Seconded: Cr Jack Medcraft

9.3 That Councillor Leigh Johnson be appointed as the Council representative and Councillor Jana Taylor be appointed as the substitute delegate for the Victorian Local Governance Association.

CARRIED

10. CLOSURE OF MEETING

The Mayor thanked everyone for their attendance, and invited all present to attend a civic reception following the Meeting.

The Mayor closed the Meeting at 7.40pm.

COUNCILLOR CARLY MOORE