Site secured for one of five new kinders across Hume

Published on 12 December 2023

Little boy raises his hand to speak as part of preschool class sitting in circle

Welcome to a quick wrap up of key items that were discussed at our Council Meeting on Monday 11 December 2023.

1. Aitken Hill Community Centre – Kindergarten Expansion Project 

We have approved the use of public open space adjoining the Aitken Hill Community Centre in Craigieburn for the site of a new relocatable two room kindergarten. 

The kindergarten will be one of five in Hume supported by the State Government’s Building Blocks Program for a lease period of up to 20 years. 

The project is to be delivered by Term 1 2025. 

2. Merlynston Creek Crossing Project Update 

We are progressing the Council Road crossing project at Merlynston Creek with an agreement made to secure the route and funding arrangements for the Road.  

The connecting road between Dallas Drive and Maygar Boulevard is proposed to ease congestion on Blair Street which will make it more attractive for businesses. 

Council will seek to acquire the land on Camp Road known as the Maygar Barracks from the Commonwealth Department of Defence to provide for the Road. 

The expected construction cost is $15m which Council will advocate for equal funding from all three levels of government. 

Stay up to date with the project and the consultation process. 

3. Safe Driver Reward Program Proposal

Following a recommendation put forward at an Ordinary meeting of Council in August, a report was compiled to assess whether Council could offer a safe driver reward and recognition program. 

The report, which was of no cost, indicates that establishing the program faces challenges to become a reality, including not being aligned with Victoria Police’s highway response procedures. 

The report identified three viable alternative programs for Council to consider if it were to expand its road safety offerings. 

Read how Hume City Council’s road safety program is starting intervention early. 

4. Place Names, Memorialisation, Recognition of Residents and Recognition of Former Councillors Policies 

Council has enacted new Place Names, Recognition of Residents and Recognition of Former Councillors Policies, replacing the policies enacted in 2017, to better respond to applications and reflect community sentiment. 

An internal Place Names Committee will be established, headed by Councillors Joseph Haweil (Aitken Ward) and Jarrod Bell (Jackson Creek Ward), to consider applications. 

Additionally, we will have a community consultation in early 2024 to establish a ‘Name Bank’ which could be drawn from for future use that recognize the diversity of the Hume community. 

The Place Names Policy is informed by the State Government’s naming rules

More details, including official minutes, notices of motion and audio recordings will be published later this week.